Navigation and service

About GCS

The Gauss Centre for Supercomputing (GCS) combines the three national supercomputing centres High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS), Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC), and Leibniz Supercomputing Centre, Garching near Munich (LRZ) into Germany’s foremost supercomputing institution.

Each GCS centre hosts a supercomputer in the multiple Petaflops performance mark (1 petaflops = 1 quadrillion floating point operations per second, or a 1 with 15 zeros), placing all three institutions amongst the most powerful computing centres worldwide. With in total more than 35 petaflops for use (number growing), GCS offers by far the largest and most powerful supercomputing infrastructure in Europe to serve a broad range of science and industrial research activities in various disciplines.

GCS also provides first-class training opportunities for both the national and European High Performance Computing (HPC) communities. More than 50 highly qualified scientists acting as trainers host over 60 courses (or 150 course days) per year. Due to its wealth of training opportunities and the vast experience of its trainers, GCS is one of the leading HPC training institutions in all of Europe.

GCS is jointly funded by the German Ministry of Education and Science (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – BMBF) and the corresponding ministries of the three national states of Baden-Wuerttemberg, Bavaria, and North Rhine-Westphalia.

GCS is a hosting member of PRACE (Partnership for Advance Computing in Europe), an international non-profit association (aisbl) with its seat is Brussels/Belgium. It has 26 member countries, whose representative organizations create a pan-European supercomputing infrastructure, providing access to computing and data management resources and services for large-scale scientific and engineering applications at the highest performance level.

GCS has its headquarters in Berlin/Germany.

Federal Ministry of Education and Research - BMBF
Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of the German State of Baden-Württemberg
Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts
Ministry of Culture and Research of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia