The scientific steering committee of GCS awards computer time grants on the GCS HPC systems to scientifically excellent GCS large-scale projects. The projects are evaluated by a peer-review process which is strictly based on their scientific and technical excellence.

The current scientific steering committee members of GCS are:

Chairman: Prof. Dr. Dietmar Kröner, University of Freiburg

Vice Chairman: Prof. Dr. Marcus Müller, University of Göttingen


  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang E. Nagel, University of Dresden, Chairman of the HLRS Steering Committee
  • Prof. Dr. Dietmar Kröner, University of Freiburg, Deputy Chairman of the HLRS Steering Committee
  • Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bönisch, HLRS, User Management


  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Müller, University of Göttingen, Chairman of the NIC Scientific Council
  • Prof. Dr. Dietrich Wolf, University of Duisburg, Chairman of the NIC Peer Review Board
  • Dr. Norbert Attig, JSC, User Management


  • Prof. Dr. Peter Bastian, Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing, Heidelberg University, Chairman of the SuperMUC Steering Committee at LRZ
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Wellein, University of Erlangen, Deputy Chairman of the KONWIHR directorate
  • Dr. Gerald Mathias, LRZ, User Management

Permanent guests:

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael M. Resch, Director of HLRS, Chairman of the Board of GCS
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Kranzlmüller, Director of LRZ
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Lippert, Director of JSC
  • Dr. Claus Axel Müller, Managing Director of GCS
  • Dr. Florian Janetzko, GCS Coordination Office
  • Dr. Alexander Trautmann, GCS Coordination Office