Virtual Conference: SC20 Is Everywhere We Are Gauss Centre for Supercomputing e.V.

NEWS

Virtual Conference: SC20 Is Everywhere We Are
Newsflash xx/2020 –

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, SC20, the International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis Conference, had to be reimagined. This year’s theme is, “SC20 Is Everywhere We Are”. The event, which originally was scheduled to be held at in Atlanta, GA (USA) in the Georgia World Congress Center, will take place as a virtual event running November 9–25. Representatives of GCS centres HLRS, JSC and LRZ will participate with various contributions to the digital event.


Gauss Centre for Supercomputing

  • GCS supports team deFAUlt, a German university team representing the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg participating in SC’s Student Cluster Competition. Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the contest will also be held in digital format and is now called Virtual Student Cluster Competition (VSCC). More Information
     
  • GCS on Social Media: @gcs_hpc
     
  • GCS will use the following hashtags for Twitter outreach: #MoreThanHPC #SC20 #HPCforGermany

High-Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS)

HLRS representatives will host resp. participate in the following SC20 sessions:

Mon., Nov. 1611:45 - 12:15 (EST)
16:45 - 17:15 (CET)
Strengthening HPC Competences in Europe in the Exa-Era
Speaker: Dr. Bastian Koller
Mon., Nov. 1612:30 - 13:30 (EST)
17:30 - 18:30 (CET)
Virtual Twins, Smart Cities and Smart Citizens
Speakers: Leyla Kern, Dr. Fabian Dembski, Dr. Uwe Wössner
Tue., Nov. 1710:00 - 10:30 (EST)
15:00 - 15:30 (CET)
HiDALGO: Addressing Global Challenges with HPC and Big Data Technologies
Speakers: Dennis Hoppe, Dr. Derek Groen
Tue., Nov. 1710:45 - 11:15 (EST)
15:45 - 16:15 (CET)
SODALITE: Software-Defined Execution and Optimization of In-Silico Clinical Trials in HPC with SODALITE Platform
Speakers: Dr. Ralf Schneider, Kamil Tokmakov
Tue., Nov. 1711:30 - 11:45 (EST)
16:30 - 16:45 (CET)
CATALYST: Leveraging HPC to Drive Innovation in AI

Speaker: Dennis Hoppe

Wed., Nov. 1810:00 - 10:15 (EST)
15:00 - 15:15 (CET)
EXCELLERAT (part 1): Paving the Way towards Exascale
Speaker: Amgad Dessoky
Wed., Nov. 1811:00 - 11:45 (EST)
16:00 - 16:45 (CET)
HPCWE: High-Performance Computing Applied in Wind Energy
Speaker: Flavio Cesar Cunha Galeazzo

Further information on HLRS@SC20 Digital is available at: https://www.hlrs.de/sc20/

Follow HLRS on Twitter to get the latest updates from us: @HLRS_HPC

HLRS will use the following hashtags for Twitter outreach: #MoreThanHPC #SC20 #HPCforGermany


Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC)

JSC representatives will have roles in the following SC20 sessions:

Mon., Nov. 910:00 - 14:00 (EST
15:00 - 19:00 (CET)
Tutorial: Practical Hybrid Parallel Application Performance Engineering
Co-organizer, Presenter: Markus Geimer | Presenter: Christian Feld & Brian Wylie
Wed., Nov. 1113:20 - 13:40 (EST)
18:20 – 18:40 (CET)
Workshop: Archival Data Repository Services to Enable HPC and Cloud Workflows in a Federated Research e-Infrastructure
Presenter: Dirk Pleiter
Thu., Nov. 1214:30 - 18:30pm (EST)
19:30 – 23:30 (CET)
Workshop: ProTools 2020: Workshop on Programming and Performance Visualization Tools
Co-organizer: Markus Geimer
Tue., Nov. 1713:00 - 14:15 (EST)
18:00 – 19:15 (CET)
Birds of a Feather: European HPC Ecosystem Summit
Session co-leader, Presenter: Florian Berberich
Tue., Nov. 1714:30 - 15:45 (EST)
19:30 – 20:45 (CET)
Birds of a Feather: Designing and Building Next-Generation Computer Systems for Deep Learning
Session co-leader, Presenter: Morris Riedel
Wed., Nov. 1810:00 - 11:30 (EST)
15:00 – 16:30 (CET)
Panel: SC Conference Series: Past, Present and Future
Panelist: Bernd Mohr

Further information on JSC@SC20 Digital is available at https://fz-juelich.de/ias/jsc/sc20

Follow JSC on Twitter to get the latest updates from us: @fzj_jsc

Follow JSC‘s director, Prof. Dr. Thomas Lippert: @Tomtherhymer

JSC will use the following hashtags for Twitter outreach: #MoreThanHPC #SC20 #HPCforGermany


Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (LRZ)

LRZ Representatives will be participating in the following sessions:

Tue., Nov. 1010:00 - 14:00 (EST)
15:00 - 19:00 (CET)
Tutorial: Practical OpenHPC: Cluster Management, HPC Applications, Containers and Cloud
Presenter: David Brayford
Wed., Nov. 1111:30 - 12:30 (EST)
16:30 – 17:30 (CET)
Talk: Always Celebrate Your Achievement
Speaker: Laura Schulz
Thu., Nov. 198:30 - 17:00 (EST)
13:30 – 22:00 (CET)
Poster Session: Orchestration of a Forecasting Chain for Forest Fire Prevention using the LEXIS Cloud/HPC Platform
Presenter: Mohamad Hayek
Thu., Nov. 1915:00 - 16:00 (EST)
20:00 – 21:00 (CET)
Award Session: Gordon Bell Prize Award Committee
Chair of Award Committee: Arndt Bode

Further information on LRZ@SC20 Digital is available at: https://sc20.lrz.de/

Follow LRZ on Twitter to get the latest updates from us: @LRZ_DE

Follow LRZ‘s director, Prof. Dr. Dieter Kranzlmüller: @Kranzlmueller

LRZ will use the following hashtags for Twitter outreach:#MoreThanHPC #WeAreLRZ #SC20 #HPCforGermany


GCS Centres Embrace #MoreThanHPC

2020 has been a year filled with unprecedented challenges. Public health challenges have exacerbated public health, economic, and technological challenges already present. Much like the SC20 conference itself, GCS centres had to rethink how we would work together, operate our machines, train our users, and continue to ensure that Germany’s leading HPC resources remained avaiable for scientific discovery. Additionally, the pandemic showed centre leadership that in the face of large-scale emergencies, such as this pandemic, HPC centres had an indispensible role to play. As a result, we have spent the last several months working on ways to ensure that our resources could be used for “rapid response” computing to support decision makers in times like these. 

We have certainly not forgotten our core missions, and centres’ staffs worked hard to ensure that our successful training program could be converted and continue on as a series of virtual workshops and courses (more). Researchers have been using our machines to combat COVID-19 in a variety of ways (more) but have also used multiple GCS machines to help design and site wind turbines in complex terrain (more).

While we have yet to find the cure for COVID-19, HPC centres like ours continue to enable dedicated researchers to run calculations that would otherwise be unattainable. While we are only a small part of the immense research effort dedicated to defeating SARS-CoV-2, we will continue to make our resources available for accelerating a cure. 

GCS centres’ staffs are certainly disappointed that they cannot participate with HPC colleagues in person at SC20, but we understand that, more than possibly any year before, this year is about #MoreThanHPC


An overview of the complete SC20 program can be found at https://sc20.supercomputing.org/program/ and the SC20 agenda is available at https://sc20.supercomputing.org/attend/schedule/